Dear N.C. Marathon people:

You’re going to freak out when you see what I do on Saturday.

I’m going to be the only person who takes a walk break two minutes out of the starting gate. Did I say two? It may just be one minute. I’ll have to see how I feel. In any event, it will be very, very soon after you say “go.” Then it’s going to happen. You’re going to say: “Oh, great. ¬†This one’s here’s not going to make it one-tenth of a mile, much less 13.1 miles. Hey, Jimmy, best have that ambulance ready for her at Mile Marker 4.”

But you will be wrong.

Here’s the thing: It takes me a while to warm up. I like to ease into my runs, to find my groove very slowly. Taking that first quick walk break is part of my elaborate, scientifically-calculated warming-up strategy. It is certainly won’t be the norm at your race, where Boston qualifiers will mingle with first-timers, where full-on marathoners will beat my time in the half. Oh, believe me. I’ll find my stride. But it won’t happen¬†quick.

I’m down with that. You should be down with it, too. Unfortunately, not everyone is as tolerant, as understanding, as fully-actualized as we are. So you might want to tell your volunteers, your medical staff – and especially the other runners – not to fret over the middle-aged brunette with the pigtails who suddenly starts acting like an extra from this movie.

It’s all part of the plan.

About margaretmoffett

World, I'm training for the half-marathon portion of the N.C. Marathon on March 20, 2010. My goal is to see it through. Hold me to it.

Posted on March 15, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Margaret,
    I am new to your site only having read the bits linked to the NC Marathon site. Quite entertaining, and quite real. I am sure you have had a bit of advice from practically everyone so I will just say your story rings true for me. I returned to running last April and in the best of OCD efforts trainined for the City of Oaks. Rainy, cold and 4:45 later I finished. You mentioned perceiving yourself as something others may not have seen. When Oaks posted photographs I was very confused to see my father wearing my running clothes, or could that really have been me?
    And finishing last? I looked through the age groups from the prior year of Oaks and realized as a 53 years old male I would be competitive only with the 80+ woman who continues to run marathons. Humbling? You bet. But someone was behind me and I respected them completely as I drove from the finsih line and saw them nearing the finish.
    I will be out there Saturday for my second marathon effort. I am battling the flu right now. So if it is okay with you might I bring two cups of coffee for our first two minute break?

    Great chronicle. I will take the time to pour through it between now and Saturday.

  2. Please, please keep writing after the race. I love reading your blog. You have a cyber friend in me! Good luck on Saturday! I will be thinking of you on my short little 5 miler and sending all sorts of prayers and good vibes your way. :)

  3. As another “Jane” I’ll be out there running in the 5K, and after I cross my finish line I’ll be thinking about you. As Liz would/will say, “you can do this”, and we all need to do it our way. Good running vibes your way!! BTW: Your blog has been a blast to read!!

  4. Your blog has made my training for the race more fun. Thank you for writing true to yourself. Hope to meet you at the race. It will be my first time too.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

